Could ‘Ready Player One’ save cinemas from the superheroes?

ready-player-one

First off, don’t get me wrong: I fucking love all the superhero movies coming out and with only the rare exception (I’m looking at you, Suicide Squad) they have all been worth the years waiting. But I’d be lying if I didn’t say that the sheer volume of superhero and superhero-related franchises coming to screens, both cinema and TV, it’s hard to stay excited when there’s just so much back story to get caught up on. 2017 will see Wonder WomanSpider-Man: Homecoming, Logan, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Justice League, Power Rangers, and Thor: Ragnarok, just to name a few. Beyond 2017, there’s Black Panther, Deadpool 2, Avengers: Infinity War, Ant-Man and The Wasp, Venom, Aquaman, Captain Marvel, Shazam, and so much more, and that’s only looking until late 2018/early 2019.

Although fun, the abundance of superhero films leaves me wanting something different, especially something that’s not a reboot, remake, or sequel. There’s nothing quite as invigorating as fresh sci-fi, which is precisely why I am dangerously excited for Warner Bros’ Ready Player One.

I say “dangerously” because there’s always the distinct possibility that this movie, like countless others before it, could suck. Based on the identically-titled booked by Ernest Cline, it’s got loads of nostalgic bits for people of my generation. Hell, the trailer features THE Delorean going faster than any Delorean has ever gone before. But if the film focuses on the references and not the plot, this film could be two hours of “Weren’t the 80’s cool?”

Full disclosure: I have not read the whole book. I read and sample and loved it, and have subsequently purchased the book on Google Play Books. I’ve got some catching up to do before the film comes out.

ready_player_one-0

But you’ve got my undivided attention

Either way, I am hopeful that this film will be a much-needed break from the superhero genre to explore an entirely new area of science fiction that will make all us 80’s kids tingle in our Nintendo-parts. Only then will we be refreshed enough to bring our love back to the superhero genre and provide them the attention they demand.

Is this cheating? It sounds like cheating.

What are your thoughts? (About the movie, not the cheating thing.)

Leave a Reply

